At THiNK FeST on 2 November 2023, various THUAS awards will be presented for exceptional performances. Each faculty is challenged to propose nominees by no later than 15 September.

Thesis Award

The Thesis Award is presented to students who carry out the best graduation research project.
The goal is to draw attention to theses that reflect the philosophy of the school, both within and outside of the university of applied sciences.

Every nominee from each faculty receives 250,- euros pp.

Olive Award

The Olive Award is presented to the team of lecturers that succeeds most effectively in working together with the workfield. Considering the importance of the teams in designing and carrying out education, the Executive Board and deans believe that this award should not go to an individual, but to a team.

The goal is to demonstrate appreciation for the work carried out by lecturers and to draw attention to their contribution to quality education. The format also enables the university of applied sciences to draw attention to the strength of a highly collaborative team (of 3 to 8 persons).

The jury award for the winning team is 1,000 euros, to be spent on literature, and 2,500 euros, to be spent on an activity carried out together with students in the professional field/ at a social organisation. The Public Award for the winning team is 500 euros, to be spent on literature. The other one or two nominated teams receive a bouquet of flowers and a small gift.  

The professional jury of the Olive Award consists of the following members:

  • Arend Hardorff (member of the Executive board)
  • Ellen Sjoer (researcher)
  • Hanna Mitra Rambaran (lecturer, and former Olive Award winner 2022)
  • Maaike Konings (investigator)

Pim Breebaart Research Award

The Pim Breebaart Research Award (PBRA) is an award for inspiring research conducted at The Hague University of Applied Sciences. With this prize we want to reward partnerships between research-education-practice. We are looking for mixed teams composed of students, lecturers, researchers, professors (and ongoing partners abroad).

THUAS established this award to:

  • Promote its research programme both inside and outside of its own institution promote research that makes a distinctive contribution to solving a current issue;
  • Encourage and challenge promising THUAS staff members to deliver outstanding achievements in the field of research;
  • Appreciate and recognise staff members for who they are;
  • Thank Pim Breebaart for his efforts towards making research a serious endeavour at The Hague University of Applied Sciences.

The prize is 5,000 euros for the winning research and a figurine. The money is intended for the research.

The professional jury of the Pim Breebaart Research Award consists of the following members:

  • Pim Breebaart (former chair of the Executive Board of THUAS) 
  • Lieke Hubregtse (strategic advisor Township The Hague) 
  • Jeroen Oskam (director Research Centre Hoteschool The Hague)
  • Johan Woudstra (former lecturer of THUAS, and former PBRA winner) 

Golden Staff Award

New this year: the Golden Staff Award. This award rewards the team that stands out by adding value to the research or educational process. It’s a team award, in line with the vision of The Hague University of Applied Sciences, but it can also be awarded to other collaborative bodies like project groups in which various employees from different departments, faculties, centres of expertise and/or teams work together in a binding and innovative manner.

The award (2,500 euros) will be spent on an activity to support the collaboration.

The professional jury of the Golden Staff Award consists of the following members

  • Sandy Bosman (Director HRM department)
  • Richard van Ommeren (Manager Faculty office ITD)
  • Jacco van Uden (Researcher Change Management)

Doctoral candidates

We would like to reward doctoral candidates with a prize. Doctoral candidates of 2023 (between November 2022 and November 1st 2023) will receive a figurine during THiNK FeST.



With any questions and/ or comments, please send an email to

See also Prize Parade 2022

See also Prize Parade 2021

See also Prize Parade 2020

See also Prize Parade 2019