The Hague University of Applied Sciences has been a UNESCO Associated School since 2009. International unity, tolerance and solidarity are important goals for member institutions of the worldwide UNESCO Associated School network.

Unesco associated schools

In the Netherlands fifty schools are members of the UNESCO Associated Schools network. These schools include elementary and post-primary education, senior secondary vocational education and training and universities of applied sciences. Worldwide the network consists of around 10,000 schools. All these schools aim to contribute to the mission of UNESCO: ‘Since wars begin in the minds of men, it is in the minds of men that the defences of peace must be constructed’. These institutions achieve this by focusing on at least two of the four UNESCO themes: peace and human rights, global citizenship, intercultural learning and sustainable development.

The Hague University of Applied Sciences as a UNESCO Associated School

The Hague University of Applied Sciences focuses on all four UNESCO themes. This translates into a large selection of various activities, such as lectures, inspiring stories, discussions and debates, workshops, exhibits, films and performances. These activities inspire thought for students and staff alike and promote a discussion about social and political issues, the world in general and the future. These will encourage all upcoming professionals at the Hague University of Applied Sciences to actively embody the UNESCO mission.

The Dutch UNESCO committee

Each country that is a member of UNESCO has a National UNESCO Committee. The Dutch UNESCO Committee was founded in 1947 and exists by Royal Decree. The committee consists of up to eleven members. They volunteer their expertise in one or more of the four working areas of UNESCO: education, science, culture and communication. The Minister of Education, Culture and Science nominates the members.